Onward and UPward

Army cadets in the military-mining course at the Michigan College of Mines visited the Quincy mine in 1918. Image courtesy of the Michigan Tech Archives Keweenaw Digital Archive. (#MTU-166-03-0001)

Army cadets in the military-mining course at the Michigan College of Mines visited the Quincy mine in 1918. Image courtesy of the Michigan Tech Archives Keweenaw Digital Archive. (#MTU-166-03-0001)

In a few shorts weeks my spouse and I will be making the official move back to the Copper Country. In the wake of change, I have also received some good news.  While I had planned to intern with the Keweenaw National Historical Park, I’ve come to find out that I have a paid summer internship at Michigan Tech.  Starting the last week of May I will be serving as a graduate summer intern with the Michigan Technological University Archives and Copper Country Historical Collections. Keeping in line with the work I’ve been doing for the past year and a half at Western Illinois University’s Archives and Special Collections, I will assist in day-to-day public service activities in the MTU Archives as well as gain further experience in organizing, describing, and processing archival collections.

In addition to the good news about summer employment, I’ve also been appointed as the new administrator of the 1913 Strike blog. The Michigan Copper Miners’ Strike Centennial blog was established to coordinate and promote commemorative activities relating to the centennial of the 1913-14 Michigan Copper Miners’ Strike. I look forward to this new role and I would also like to invite the audience of this blog to follow that site as well.  Great things are afoot!

 

Leave a Reply

